Boys Swimming

2016-2017 Boys Swimming

Coaches: Meg Kaplan, Suzanne Guziec, Mike Darland

Name Year
Seamus Blair* Sr
Patrick Carousso Sr
Ryan Gonzalez Sr
Owen Greene Sr
Tyler Hill* Sr
Andrew Klein Sr
John Koster* Sr
Tommy Park* Sr
Erik Rauch Sr
Andrew Schmitt Sr
Raymond Zheng Sr
Luciano Fernandez Jr
Malcolm Hanchet Jr
Bopiah Paruvangada Jr
Coleman Smith Jr
Jack Sullivan Jr
Eli Thaler Jr
Henry Blair So
Aiden Bowers So
Kyle Colby So
Quinn Colby So
James Colby So
Zach Eichenberg Fr
Noah Falk Fr
Sam Hamroff So
Nathan Huang So
Zach Kessler So
Garrett Kiesel So
Chiraf Kumar So
Thomas Machetto So
Christopher Meyler So
Ellis Ritchie So
Daniel Sakharuk So
Marc Stern So
Henry Asa Fr
Gavrie Elliott Fr
Noah Falbaum Fr
Oliver Fernandez Fr
Johnny Laidlaw Fr
Luke McHugh Fr
Stephen Pearce Fr
Pranay Talla Fr
Daniel Xu Fr
Wyatt Yates Fr


* - Captains

Section 1 Swimming Championships - February 7-8, 2017


Tyler Hill NYS State Champion
Greeley Boys Swim Team places 4th at states March 5 in Buffalo NY

Tyler Hill is the State Champion 100 back 50.08 setting a new Greeley and Section 1 record, earning All-American Consideration breaking the oldest record still held in section 1 since 1995.

Tyler - "I am proud to bring back a state title to Greeley because I know it's a very special thing."

Tyler Hill on podium

The last Greeley boys swimming state champion was the 2009 400 Free Relay team of Mike Nicholson, Matt Hadley, Taegan Clarke and Risten Clarke. There have been no individual Greeley boys swim state champions in Coach Kaplan's 15 years as head coach.

3rd in 100 free with a time of 45.95 also setting a new Greeley and Seciton 1 record and earning All-American Consideration breaking the section record formerly held by fellow Greeley Swimmer Risten Clarke

River Elms

3rd 500 free with a time of 4:39.01


4th 200 free with a time of 1:42.19

Graham Blair, John Koster, River Elms and Tyler Hill

3rd place 400 freestyle relay team 3:10.07


Danny Papes, LuisFelipe Carvao, River Elms and Tyler Hill

8th place 200 freestyle relay team broke their own Greeley record from last year with a time of 1:27.74


Bopaiah Paruvangada

14th 100 back 53.22

Danny Papes

earned the Section 1 Sportsmanship Award

Graham Blair and LuisFelipe Carvao

earned Section 1 Scholar Athlete Awards

2016-17 Boys Varsity Swimming Schedule & Results

Last Updated 1/15/17 - SUBJECT TO CHANGE

Date Time Opponent Result Notes
11/30 4:00PM at White Plains HS Not Scored
12/14 4:30PM New Rochelle/Bronxville at New Rochelle HS W 86-82
12/16 4:30PM at Suffern HS W 101-77
12/20 4:30PM vs Clarkstown South at Purchase College W 98.5-81.5
1/6 4:30PM vs Arlington at Poughkeepsie MS W 89-76
1/10 4:30PM vs Scarsdale at Purchase College W 96-85
1/13 5:30PM vs Brewster at Green Chimneys
1/19 4:30PM at North Rockland HS
1/24 4:30PM vs Fox Lane at Purchase College
2/3 5:00PM vs TBD at Purchase College
2/7 5:00PM vs TBD at Felix Festa MS
2/8 5:00PM vs TBD at Felix Festa MS


Greeley wins 9th Straight Conference 1 Title

With huge efforts by all Greeley swimmers and divers, Greeley beat out top rivals Fox Lane, New Rochelle/Bronxville and Scarsdale to take home the championship for a 9th straight time.

Podium finishes for Greeley were:

  • 1st place 200 Medley relay team: Bopaiah Paruvangada, Andrew Schmitt, John Koster and Raymond Zheng
  • 1st place 200 free: Tyler Hill
  • 1st place 200IM: John Koster
  • 1st place 100 free: Tyler Hill
  • 2nd place 200 free relay: Schmitt, Jack Sullivan, Koster and Hill
  • 2nd place 100 breast: Schmitt
  • 2nd place 100 butterfly: Koster
  • 2nd place 400 free relay: Daniel Sakaruk, Sullivan, Raymond Zheng and Hill.

Several swimmers made state meet cuts as well: 200 free relay, 400 free relay and Tyler Hill 100 free.

For complete results click here to be directed to Section 1’s Swimming Site